Skip to content

Urban Hike: Discovery Park

June 10, 2012

Memorial day weekend was spent in Seattle.  No, not at Folk life, which I sadly missed.  Although it seemed like we would of dodged a lot of people because of the festival. There was still a fair amount of human traffic at Discovery Park.  Garry and I attempted our first urban hike last year for the Fourth of July, but we arrived at the park late.  This time we were absolutely determined to see the light house.
This was our first urban hike, and it was a little frustrating.  I’m just glad we picked up a map before getting lost in the jumble of trails weaving in all directions.  After what seemed like 5 different trails and 500 steps going down, we finally reached the beach.  However, we had a half a mile to go to reach the light house.
It was a different experience going on urban hike.  Before reaching the beach, it felt like we were in a remote forest.  Hiking along a coast is one of my favorite hikes, but I was always used to seeing the endless horizon.  At the light house, we could see Bainbridge Island and the Olympic Mountains.  I guess you can say I was a little spoiled with the hikes I’ve been on, and I was a little too used to the loneliness which I call calm and humbling, and that the sight of boats passing by have spoiled what I would call a “fun” hike.  Urban hiking is not for me.
Pros: Wild flowers were abundant along the coast!  Also, we got to see some wild life.  This was my first time seeing two owls at once.  The first time Garry and I attempted Discovery Park we saw wild bunnies.

   

   

   

   

 

 

Hiking details: 4 miles round trip in 3 hours.

No comments yet

Leave a comment